Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors meets the first and third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the Township building.


On-Lot Sewer Management


In March 2000, Derry Township adopted an On-Lot Sewage System Management Ordinance. The ordinance requires that all on-lot sewage disposal systems be pumped and inspected. The Township is divided into four areas and will be inspected at regular four year intervals.
Click here to learn more


Page S.E.O
P.O. Box 67
Mifflintown, PA 17044

Septic sytem pumpers lincensed in Derry Township:
Buck Run Farms
87 Buck Run Lane Lewistown, PA 17044
Sherwood Septic Pumping
20 Mitchell Drive Lewistown, PA 17044
Brannon's Porta Pot Rentals, LLC
84 W. Charles St. Lewistown, PA 17044
Brannon & Royer
1922 Back Maitland Road Lewistown, PA 17044
717-242-9541 or 717-994-2682

Sewer Authority


  • 74 Reserve Lane
  • Lewistown, PA 17044


  • Phone: (717)-248-0383
  • Email:


  • Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
  • Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 Noon
  • Closed daily: 12:00 - 12:30


  • Randy L. Leister - Operations Manager
  • Mike Cherry – Maintenance
  • Ken Shawver - Maintenance
  • Carolyn S. Mumper – Office Manager
  • Karen Kahley - Clerk

Board Members

  • Murray Laite - Chairman
  • Ronald E. Napikoski Jr. - Vice-Chairman
  • Don A. Linn - Secretary
  • Leonard Moist - Treasurer
  • Scott Mauery - Assistant Secretary/Treasurer
  • Tim Searer – Solicitor
  • Buchart Horn, Inc. – Engineer

The Derry Township Sanitary Sewer Authority Board meets the second Monday of every month at 4:30 p.m. at the Township building. The Authority is responsible for maintaining the public sanitary sewer lines.

Sewer Billing Cycles

Quarter Period Billed For Due Date
1st January 1 – March 31 April 20
2nd April 1 – June 30 July 20
3rd July 1 – September 30 October 20
4th October 1 – December 31 January 20

Rates / Forms

  • Residential: Flat Rate $132/Quarter
  • Commercial: $12.50/1000 gallons (minimum of $132/Quarter)
  • Vacant properties (no water usage for ENTIRE Quarter): $85/Quarter

  • Please complete vacancy form and submit to office
  • Derry Sewer offers direct billing as convenient payment option!
  • New construction/hook up? Click here for Sewer Lateral Specifications

  • Permits for new construction tap in, existing line repairs, and cap off to remove from system (with Authority’s approval). Please contact the office for details.

Planning Commission

Board Members

  • Dan Kochenderfer - Chairman
  • T. David Filson
  • Norma Fisher
  • Don Corbin - Vice Chairman
  • N. Sue Reinke - Secretary
  • Bill Gomes - Alternate

The Derry Township Planning Commission meets on the first Thursday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the Township building. The Commission is comprised of five members appointed by the Township Supervisors to a five year term. The Commission reviews and makes recommendations on proposed amendments to the zoning ordinance, official map, subdivision and land development, and planned residential development plans.

Zoning & Code Enforcement

Zoning Permit Application

Zoning permits are required prior to a change in use of land or structure or the erection, construction, improvement, alteration or demolition of any structure or portion thereof. A zoning permit is also required prior to the alteration or development of any improved or unimproved real estate, including, but not limited to, mining, dredging, filling, grading, paving, excavation or drilling operations or the erection or alteration of any signs specified in the Derry Township Zoning Ordinance. Zoning permits are required for the construction or installation of animal waste impoundments, lakes, ponds, dams, or other water retention basins. No zoning permit shall be required for repairs or maintenance of any structure or land, provided such repairs do not change the use or the exterior dimensions of the structure, or otherwise violate the provisions of the Derry Township Zoning Ordinance. Property Owners may make application for Zoning Permits to the Zoning Officer.

In addition to zoning permits, whenever any subdivision of land or land development is proposed before any contract is made for the sale of any part thereof, and before any permit for the erection of a structure in such proposed subdivision or land development shall be granted, the owner, or his authorized agent, shall apply for and secure approval of such proposed subdivision or land development in accordance with the following procedures for subdivision and land development.

Prior to filing an application for approval of a subdivision or land development within Derry Township, the owner or his authorized agent must meet with the Township for an official classification of his proposed subdivision or land development. The Township will determine whether the proposal will be classified as a minor subdivision, a major subdivision or a land development. At that time, the Township will advise the owner or his authorized agent as to which of the procedures consistent with the Derry Township Subdivision and Land Development Ordinance. Applicants for subdivision and/or land development plan approval are to contact the Township Manager.

Zoning Map


  • Frances Varner
  • Phone: (717)-248-8151
  • Email:

Zoning Officer Hours

  • Monday – Friday 10:00 am – 2:00 pm (May vary due to scheduled Zoning Hearings)


  • (1) appeals from the action of the zoning officer
  • (2) challenges to the validity of an ordinance or map
  • (3) variances
  • (4) special exceptions
  • (5) unified appeals

Board Members

  • Marvin Reinke
  • Margaret M. Stewart
  • Michael Mowery
  • Jeffrey Davis, Esq.

The Zoning Board is appointed by the Board of Supervisors to a three year term. The Zoning Board responsibilities include appeals from the action of the zoning officer and challenges to the validity of an ordinance or map. The Board also hears requests for variances, special exceptions, and unified appeals.

Bureau Veritas

  • Hours:       Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday 8:00 am – 3:00 pm
  • Address:   75 Reserve Lane Lewistown, PA 17044
  • Phone:      717-242-0992
  • Fax:           717-242-4391

Tax Collector


  • 10 Laurel Street
  • Lewistown, PA 17044


  • Bret L. Treaster
  • Phone: 717-248-3165


Elected Auditors


  • Tom Lake – Chairman
  • Barry Farrell
  • Kevin Doebler
  • Jeffrey L. Snook – Solicitor